Insult For Insult? Whoa

Is it legitimate to use a similar insult to highlight someone else’s insult? The Onion thinks so as reported here by CBS News New York today:  http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2013/10/22/satire-gone-too-far-the-onion-hurls-slurs-at-redskins-owner/ and internationally http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2472391/The-Onion-describes-Redskins-owner-anti-Semitic-word-racism-row.html

Redskins, Indians, and every other insulting racially tied name need to be taken out of public use in every and all commercial enterprise, of which the Onion is certain one. Adding to the vitrol with more hate speech helps no one and hardens thinking. 

Today, in nearby(to me) Boston the first game of the World series is starting. I would love to go, listen, support the team and yes I like the game. One of my fondest memories of my childhood is sitting in a parked car with my uncle while my aunt finished her shopping and we listened to the game on the car radio and he taught it to me. Or on the porch in the summer and hearing the play-by-play. As a “girl” back then I was not supposed to be to much the sport lover so I often did not understand a lot. What I understood was the family closeness, enthusiasm, energy and excitement. 

Today plenty of young people, worldwide feel those same feelings. It is time to end the association of MLB and all major commercial teams with any and all forms of racism. “Chief Wahoo” and the “Indians” included. MLB, Mr. Bud Selig, Mr. Dolan, will you finally step up to the plate and swing for the bleachers–do it right? Change it up? 

By now you know where to find me. Your silence means one thing: you approve the current situation. Tradition? I don’t think so. Being “one of the boys”–whoever those boys/men/groups happen to be? Maybe? Profits and ego? Most likely. Do you really want the current situation to be your legacy? Really?

As I asked a Cleveland City Council member years ago when he said he only bought his grandson the team hat with the C on it because he loved Cleveland–“Would you put one dollar in the team owner’s wallet if the team was named the Cleveland “N….” His answer was, and I quote, a deep laugh then “Right on sister.”

He knew racism then, I know it now and so do all of you. Next time look you each look in the mirror look hard, think of your children and grandchildren–they will all know your positions on this. 

Leave a Reply

